Posted by: UrbanGreenGirl | July 5, 2009

How to feel great and cure acne though a liver cleanse

Urban Green Girl feels great!

Urban Green Girl feels great!

Hallelujah I feel great; I just completed a liver cleanse!

Let me tell you why. Being an Urban Green Girl is about dealing with issues before they become problems. I feel the same way about health and believe 100% in preventative measures to achieve optimum mental and physical health.

Unlike most adults, I was plagued with acne not as a teenager but as an adult.  After having my dermatologist put me on a wealth of dangerous drugs, namely Accutane (Isotretinoin) and Tetracycline I was put on Diane 35 (Cyproterone), a birth control praised for ridding acne in 99% of adults. And it did, brilliantly.

The Problem-

Ten years later, I decide to go off the pill because I don’t feel it’s right to have something synthetic controlling my body and I don’t entirely trust pharmaceutical products. Well guess what? All my acne came back. Diane 35 never cured it, it just suppressed it while I was taking the pill. So I decided once and for all to get rid of my acne naturally.

Naturopathy-

My naturopath has been advising me for months to take this liver cleanse on a week-end but I kept putting it off because of parties, dinner invites and drinks on a sunny terrace. Eight months later, disgusted with myself after waking up hungover on a workday, I decided to stop drinking. One week later I already found myself concentrating better and my skin was noticeably clearer. I hid myself in seclusion to have no social pressure to go out, and finally completed the liver cleanse.

Liver diagram

Liver & gallbladder diagram

Liver cleanse –

I did the liver cleanse by Dr. Hulda Clark last night and I have to say I feel great. This is how it went.

Friday night – I laid low by renting a movie and staying in. No alcohol and I stopped all supplements and vitamins.

Saturday – I had a light, no fat breakfast (fruit with 2 hard boiled eggs) and lunch (organic vegetable & barley soup). It’s important that this be low in fat as the lower the fat, the more gallstones you’ll get out. At 2pm, I stopped eating and drinking. At 6pm I drank a glass of water with epsom salts. This prepares the organs to open up. At 8pm I drank the 2nd glass of epsom salt water. At 10pm I drank a mixture of olive oil with organic, freshly squeezed grapefruit juice (no pulp). It actually wasn’t as bad as I had imagined. I guess after 8 hours of not eating, oil with grapefruit tastes pretty damn good.

I immediately put myself to bed because the quicker you lay down, the more stones you will get out. You are supposed to take Ornithine pills to help you sleep and get rid of any discomfort. They say you can feel the stones releasing from the liver. Honestly though, I couldn’t find the pills in the health food store and yet i had no trouble sleeping nor did I have any discomfort.

I will mention though I probably had diarrhea about 10 times that night before going to sleep. Just the bodies way of clearing everything out so that you can actually see the stones in the morning.

Sunday –I woke up at 10am and took the 3rd glass of epsom salt water. Two hours later I took the last one. This is when the magic happened. I started passing the liver and gallstones. This probably sounds gross but trust me, you feel so good getting these out.

Gallstones removed from liver cleanse

Gallstones removed from liver cleanse

Close up of gallstone removed from liver cleanse

Close up of stones removed in cleanse- green from liver, yellow from gallbladder

Why detox gallstones from the liver?

Well think of it this way. The liver is our most important organ, it has over 500 jobs to do in our body, most namely, detoxifying poisonous chemicals and creating bile which aids in digestion. Now, think of a garden hose. If this hose is clogged full of marbles, what will happen, less water will get out, right? The same thing is true of our liver.

If our liver and gallbladder are chocked full of gallstones, then we develop allergies, acne, digestion problems and an increased level of cholesterol in the body because the gallbladder cannot expel it properly. The liver will then be unable to properly detoxify the body and will send bacteria though out the body since parasites harbour their nests inside these stones (thus decreasing our immune system and making us sick).

I have allergies and acne so my goal is to keep doing this cleanse until no more stones come out. I hopefully will only have to do this 2 or 3 more times. Mind you, I am a vegetarian so having not eaten animal fat in 10 years, I am probably in better shape than most.  A heavy meat & fast-food  eater and alcohol drinker may have to do this continually to get rid of thousands of stones. But better to prevent illness and get them out now, then need surgery to remove a quarter shaped, black stone that causes a life threatening obstruction.

Liver stones

Liver stones removed via surgery

But i eat a well-balanced diet, i don’t need to do a liver cleanse –

Everybody who lives in modern-day, western society has liver and gallstones, regardless of how well you eat. And let’s face it, even if we “eat” well, there are so many things we can’t control that get into our body [pesticides, herbicides, preservatives, sulphates (hey – wine drinkers?), cholesterol, mercury (hey tuna eaters?)] plus things we can control but eat anyways (alcohol, animal fat, trans fats,  illicit drugs, pain medication, antibiotics, refined sugars) and the list goes on. They say, stones are even present in children. My strict-vegan friend Evelina who soaks her own seeds and beans even has them.

My consensus –

This liver cleanse was so easy, I wish I didn’t put it off for so long. It cost me maybe $2 for the epsom salts and $1 for the grapefruit. It’s really only 24hrs that you have to sacrifice but the reality is, our health is so much more important than one week-end of binge drinking. Currently, I feel great and more energized. I am attempting to do this a few more times and I will report all results.

Warning –

  1. Credibility is crucial when doing any kind of diet, cleanse or detox to our body. Please note that I followed strict instructions from my naturopath and the recipe she gave me is from Dr. Hulda Clark of whom she trusts. I would never randomly choose a recipe off the internet without reviewing it with a health professional.
  2. If you have any kind of serious illness, you most definitely should do the liver cleanse, but PLEASE see a health professional first to assess your situation.
  3. One last thing, you should do a parasite cleanse before attempting the liver cleanse. You want to kill the parasites first before you bring them out of their nests and into your body so to speak, otherwise you could make yourself sick. I completed two parasite cleanses before completing this cleanse.
Responses

  1. I don’t know what to say besides it’s a very good article…because I know nothing about natural things… but it makes me want to get rid of my liver stones 🙂

  2. From the Wikipedia article on gallstones:

    “A New Zealand hospital analyzed stones from a typical gallbladder flush and found them to be composed of fatty acids similar to those in olive oil, with no detectable cholesterol or bile salts, demonstrating that they are little more than hardened olive oil. Despite the gallbladder flush, the patient still required surgical removal of multiple true gallstones. A similar case report in The Lancet, accompanied by a simple chemical experiment, concludes that the observed stones from a typical gallbladder flush actually are a consequence of the flush: they form in the stomach under the chemical action of digestive enzymes of the stomach on the mix of olive oil and lemon.”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gallstones

  3. Excellent post.

    You really dug deep to mine your experience for nuggets of information.

    And then collected them and took a picture.

  4. I came across this because I’m looking to try it in the next two coming days. I’m trying it because Ive tried all Ive heard to try to clear blemishes zits and open pore condition in my face. I don’t do pharmaceuticals either. I’m cute- my eyes, my lips, my nose, but my skin condition- damn already, sometimes I feel God has a grudge against me (jk). So now I’m crossing my fingers for this one.

  5. I would love to hear any more advice people have about this. I have tried everything. I think this may be whats going on in my body too.

    • I used a very similar recipe for cleansing from Andreas Moritz’s book The Liver and Gallbladder Miracle Cleanse. It was reccommended by my chiropractor for gallstones I had been diagnosed with. I’m in the middle of it right now and so far so good. Feel free to check out my blog for more info. Good luck! http://mystupidgallbladder.wordpress.com/

  6. I have an acne blog similar yours. Come to visit my blog sometime.

  7. To experience severe pain in one’s body will make a people think about life, heaven, beloved ones, and changes for the betterment that one must do in order to keep the body healthy because that person has learned and experienced the painful consequences if the body is not properly taken care of.

    After I got acute liver problems that resulted in complications, and a near death experience, I have seen the light… I told myself that I would never hurt my body again, and I would want others to do the same too.

    We must protect our bodies because hurting it is being selfish because it is a certain that there are people who care and love us.

  8. well impressed with the above. ive just come today from a herbalist end this is the liver cleanse she 2 has reccommended me for my adukt acne. thank you 4 the reassurance that this remedy really does work

  9. To Jim Royal:
    If that were true then my mother who’s 72 years old and me who’s 33 years old we both drank the same amount of oil and lemon, etc and she expelled 100’s of gallstones and I expelled 5. she went to the “smart” doctor he said she needed to take her gallbladder out she did the cleanse and went back to the “smart” doctor and he said she no longer had stones. I’m tired of hearing from uneducated people that the gall bladder cleanse is bad and that modern medicine is better when it’s the reverse. Mod medicine is not good and natural remedies is smart and a lot more complex then so-called modern medicine. Doctor’s aren’t as smart as they say they are since they can’t discover or recommend the simpliest remedies. question everything.

    • I 100% agree Gabby. We need more emphasis on prevention of maladies and nutrition; two things of which is lacking in conventional med school. BTW-I have posted your comment on my new blog http://www.urbangreengirl.com and it’s no longer hosted on wordpress.

  10. I’ve done this liver cleanse 3 times and highly recommend it. It’s great, and you’ll feel great after.
    I certainly agree with doing the parasite cleanse first and drink lots of water on the following day.
    Good luck

    Russell

  11. Wondering if this cleanse might be “just what I need”. Quick history: My mom fed me SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK for the first 4 weeks of my life, mistakenly thinking this was a formula base (back in the 60’s they used diluted evaporated milk). After a hellacious 4 weeks, and a pedo visit, was informed WRONG milk, and began feeding correctly. Too late… damage done. Diagnosed with hypertriglyceredemia (sp) by age 6 and told might not make it to age 18 if not reversed. Have battled with metabolic and blood sugar (low) issues since. Have an “apple” body shape (was misdiagnosed with cushings as well), no matter what I try. Am 46, and have battle weight issues because of inability to lose. Not severe (am currently 20-30 pounds overweight – mostly belly weight). I have tried every “diet” known to man including HCG, and even colonics. Am thinking what I really need is to cleanse my liver – maybe my liver has been toxic since those first 4 weeks of life??

  12. To truly enjoy the necessity of an liver detox, it is necessary that people know the importance of the particular lean meats as well as functions. The 2nd most vital internal …cleanse liver

  13. […] side effects on her son. I was curious that I googled Accutane and found liver flush in this blog: https://urbangreengirl.wordpress.com/2009/07/05/how-to-feel-great-and-cure-acne-though-a-liver-cleans… .  She said that before the liver flush, she did the parasite cleanse. That  was how I found […]

  14. Hello, can you please tell me how parasite and kidney cleanse programs are followed? Can you please send me the steps or a website that discussed this processes. Thanks.

  15. Howdy! I just would like to give you a big thumbs up for the great information you have right here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your site for more soon.

  16. I think I will definitely try the liver cleanse. I have adult acne as well. I looked at the website you linked for the parasite cleanse. It lists the herbs to take, but not how to take them. How did you do the parasite cleanse ?

  17. very interesting post! this may be a super dumb question – but how do the stones come out? is it painful? this looks like a good cleanse to try, but i’m afraid i’m not completely understanding it. thanks!

  18. This must some special form of adult acne because I never realized that a liver cleanse could help clear acne.

  19. I discovered that mine was caused by stress (high cortisol levels) so although the liver cleanse help reduced its toxic load, it didn’t ‘directly’ help my acne.


Leave a Reply

Categories

